The CMD, Professor A.W.O. Olatinwo wishes all members of staff a happy and prosperous New Year 2012.





























Otorhinolaryngology became an established department in the University of Ilorin and the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital under the distinguished clinician and astute scholar, Prof Onyekwere Ogan, in 1989. Prior to this, vital skeletal services in Otorhinolaryngology were given by Dr. Ayo and Dr. J. O. Olabisi at various times.

Currently the department has the following Lecturer/Consultant Staff

  • Prof F E Ologe FWACS, FMCORL
  • Dr A D Dunmade FWACS, FMCORL
  • Dr B S Alabi FWACS, FMCORL   Chairman, Medical Advisory Committee
  • Dr S Segun-Busari FWACS
  • Dr A O Afolabi FWACS, FMCORL Hospital Consultant

We run postgraduate residency training in Otorhinolaryngology. We have full accreditation with the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria. So far seven consultants have qualified from this training; and there are nine others in training.

We offer services in the area of general Otorhinolaryngology, otology, rhinology, laryngology, paediatric Otorhinolaryngology, head and neck surgery, audiology and speech therapy.

Our supporting staffs consist of highly trained and dedicated Otorhinolaryngology Nurse Practitioners, Audiologists and Speech therapists as well as administrative officers.

For two consecutive years (2009 & 2010) the department has held successful Head and Neck Courses in Collaboration with St George’s Hospital, London and Rotterdam University Hospital in the Netherlands. The faculty included national and international specialists in the field.

In the area of research, our consultant staff has made significant contribution to medical knowledge. This is evidenced by their many scholarly publications in national and international journals.



Department of Otorhinolaryngology