The CMD, Professor A.W.O. Olatinwo wishes all members of staff a happy and prosperous New Year 2012.





































At the inception of the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital in July 1980, the Department of Haematology was jointly established with Morbid Anatomy as a composite Department of Pathology and Haematology. In 1991, the Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion assumed the status of a full and separate department. All activities of the department were carried out at the General Wing of the temporary site of the Teaching Hospital until July 2010 when the Department was fully moved to the Permanent site of the Hospital

The Department of Haematology and Blood Transfusion is involved in the provision of basic routine haematological services such as special tests and procedures, and blood banking services. The mission of the department is to provide haematological services, training and research for optimal health care delivery to the people of Kwara State and other neighbouring States. This goal is achieved through team work and dedication to duty among the staff of the department in collaboration with other health care professionals and personnel in other clinical departments.

The laboratories provide all round 24 hour haematological and blood banking services. These routine laboratory services which aid quick diagnosis and prompt therapeutic interventions include:

1.   Full blood counts by automated counter (Sysmex KX 21)

            -with blood film reporting on all slides within 24 hours

2.   Haemoglobin electrophoresis

3.   Sickling /solubility tests

4.   L.E. cell preparations

5.   Reticulocyte counts

6.   Coagulation screening tests – PT, PTTK & TT

7.   Donor screening

8.   Grouping and cross matching

9.    Paternity disputes investigation

10.  Preparation of blood products such as platelet concentrates, FFP,

11.  Bone marrow aspiration cytology and biopsy

12.  HIV screening and confirmation

13.  CD4 cell count measurement (using automated machine – the Cytoflow Counter).

The Department also provide both in-patient and outpatient clinical care. Haematology in-patients are admitted into the medical wards directly under the care of the Haematologists.  Some of these patients are also taken from other clinical departments following proper referral and are co-managed with the primary clinicians. The department also runs a weekly haematology clinic every Tuesdays. Patients seen include sickle cell disease patients on follow-up, patients recently discharged from the wards, new cases referred from other departments, and haemato-oncology cases on follow-up medication.A Day Care Centre  also exist in the laboratory  for special tests, fluid replacement therapy, blood transfusion, chemotherapy or venesection.

Furthermore, the department is fully involved in postgraduate training, and has five consultants’ staff. Areas of research interests in the department include haemoglobinopathies, immuno-haematology and blood banking among others.

Dr (Mrs) H.O. Olawumi, MB; BS, FWACP

Head of Department