The CMD, Professor A.W.O. Olatinwo wishes all members of staff a happy and prosperous New Year 2012.















































The Department of Anaesthesia came into existence at the inception of the University of Ilorin Teaching Hospital in 1980. The Department exists both as an academic department of the University of Ilorin and a clinical department of the Hospital. However, the academic Department of Anaesthesia of the University of Ilorin started with the founding of the University of Ilorin in 1977. The activities of the Department cover the areas of research, training and services to the community.

At the inception of the Department, there was no Physician Anaesthetist and services were rendered by Nurse Anaesthetists which include Mrs. J.O. Odetundun, Mr. Arosanyin, Late Mr. S.E. Ibikunle, Mrs. Dada, Mrs Usman, Mr. Baba-Olowo, Mr. Kuranga, Mr Mustapha and Miss G. Arumemi-Johnson. In the beginning, the department was under the supervision of various Heads of Department of Surgery which include Prof S.K. Odaibo, Prof E.O.O. Odelowo and the late Dr. A.T. Duze. However this arrangement did not affect the obligations of the Department in rendering anaesthetic services.

Between 1984 and 1988, the Department had two expatriate Physician Anaesthetists (Dr. K Raghavendra and Dr. A.D. Gunasekera) who both eventually left the services of the Hospital. There were also some resident doctors (Drs Raphael Agada, Amata, and Okoluko) who worked in the Department between 1987 and 1989, but they all left after a short stay. Between 1988 and 1991, the Department had a visiting Professor, Prof S.A. Oduntan ( University of Ibadan) and two locum Physician Anaesthetists, Dr. A.B. Morawo and Dr. Fasidi.

By 1990, Dr B.O. Bolaji was admitted into the residency programme followed by Dr I.K. Kolawole and Dr. A.A. Ayo in 1991. All these 3 resident doctors had to undergo the Diploma in Anaesthesia (DA) programme at the University of Calabar and the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria respectively. A general duty medical doctor in the Hospital, Dr (Mrs) Okoro who also obtained the DA of the University of Benin in 1992 worked briefly at the Maternity Wing of the Hospital before relocating to her home country.

The first set of two residents (Drs. E.O. Oyewole and O.O. Oyedepo) trained in the Hospital were admitted into the programme in 1999. Accreditation for training of residents in anaesthesia was given by the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria and the West African College of Surgeons in 2000 and 2002 respectively. By 2010, the following have been successfully trained- Dr. O.O. Oyedepo (FMCA, 2006), Dr. O.A. Ige (FWACS, 2008), Dr E.O. Oyewole (FWACS, 2008), Dr. F.O. Omosofe (FMCA, 2009) and Dr Z. Suleiman (FWACS, 2010). Others who have completed their programmes and awaiting examinations are Dr. O.T. Orewole and Dr. Y.A. Olurode. There are also eleven (11) Nurse Anaesthetists and eighteen (18) Intensive Care Nurses who are under nursing service department but provide services in the department. Past Heads of Department of Anaesthesia include Dr I.K.Kolawole (1998-2001) and Dr B.O.Bolaji (2001-2009).

Between 1980 and 2010, the Department had two units located in the General and Maternity wings of the Hospital. It also had a general 3-bedded intensive care unit in the old General Hospital Wing.  The Department current operates fully at the Permanent Site of the Hospital.


  1. Provision of anaesthetic services to patients for surgical operations which entails preoperative assessment, preparation, intra and postoperative care and pain management.
  2. Provision of quality intensive care services to critically ill patients who require such services.
  3. Provision of anaesthesia and monitored anaesthesia care outside operating room like in Radiology and Endoscopy Units.
  4. Provision of Basic and Advance Life Support within the hospital services.
  5. Teaching of medical students posted to the Department as part of their training curriculum for the MBBS programme.
  6. Training of Resident Doctors in the Department in preparation for the West African College of Surgeons Diploma in Anaesthesia, and the Primary, Part I and Part II (final) Fellowship examination of the West African College of Surgeons and the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria.
  7. Training of Resident Doctors in the specialties of General Medical Practice, General Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynaecology in preparation for the Part I Fellowship examination of the West African College of Surgeons and the National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria.
  8. Retraining and supervision of nurse anaesthetists, medical anaesthetic technicians and anaesthetic porters in the Department
  9. Training of various cadres in the hospital, Basic Life Support and Primary Trauma Care.
  10. To conduct research works in anaesthesia, intensive care and other related sciences for publication in national and international journals and presentation in national and international academic or professional conferences.


Head of Department